Press Release: CJPVFD Biannual Election Results for 2014

Cabin John, MD — The Cabin John Park Volunteer Fire Department recently held their biannual elections for the leadership of the Organization.

The Department unanimously re-elected James P. “Jimmy” Seavey, Sr. to a record twelfth two-year term as the Fire Rescue Chief. The operational officers of the Department are appointed to serve by the Fire Chief.

James Lee Hunter was re-elected to serve a fourth term as President/CEO, heading up the Administration of the Department. Michael Harting was also re-elected as the Vice President, having now served on the Board of Directors with Seavey for now, 22 years!

Also re-elected to the Board of Directors were: Damien Alexander (Director At-large) now serving in his sixth term, Past Chief Robert Hook (Director At-large) who is the longest serving active member of the Department and Christina Mage, now serving her fourth term as Secretary of the Department.

Newly elected as an At-large Director is Active Member, Teddy Tamulevich, a local resident of Cabin John and also a career Montgomery County Police Officer.

At their first Board Meeting, following the election, the Board appointed Past President and Life Member, James Fones, to serve as the Treasurer of the Department.

The Board now must get down to the work laid before them with a very ambitious agenda! They must work diligently on raising the necessary capital to rebuild the Station located at 9404 Falls Road in Potomac, which is virtually unchanged since it was built with volunteer funding in 1970. Additionally, they will need to concentrate on funding the necessary replacement of an ambulance, command vehicle and two boat support units (one for each station).

Many are not aware, but the Department is host to the Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service’s, River Rescue and Tactical Services Team (RRATS). Having been founded at Cabin John Park VFD, this team, nationally recognized as swift water rescue experts, requires additional funding to properly equip the personnel!

For additional information, please contact the Fire Chief, Jimmy Seavey, Sr. at 301-252-5315 or via email at